Reviews

Find more 5 star reviews anywhere you look online!!

Reviews sourced from Google, Airbnb, TripAdvisor, Booking.com

The Turnip Bed & Breakfast is a charming spot off f the highway in Gros Morne ( close to Cow Head) and a perfect place to stop when travelling the long route between St. Anthony's/ l"Anse aux Meadows and Rocky Harbour/ Wood Point/ Deer Lake. We arrived to fresh baked cookies and stayed in the Jigg's Dinner Room. Sheri is the ultimate host has used her creativity and love to decorate her home to make it both welcoming, whimsical and memorable. Roosevelt the Moose and he log cabin signing wall are just an example. Loved chatting with Sheri and learning about her community and way of life in this part of Newfoundland. A beautiful homemade breakfast was served along with a variety of jams a, coffees and teas. It doesn't get much better than this! Thanks Sherie

Pam Caswell Sept 2022

We had a wonderful time at the Turnip, Sherri was a wonderful host. Our room was beautiful, we had a wonderful breakfast and heard some interesting stories about the locals and area. I highly recommend staying at The Turnip

Robert Ross Sept 2022

This is a wonderful B&B hosted by a very friendly and talented chef , Sheri. We really enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed longer. I loved the soaker tub after a fun day of exploring and hiking in the area. Sheri’s house is beautifully decorated with a warm and inviting coastal vibe.

Carol Sept 2022

This B&B is excellent! From the warm welcome, comfortable room, funky art, Roosevelt the moose, to the homemade breakfast! The 3 syrups offered with our French toast were homemade, too! It was worth driving a bit further past Grose Morne National Park to discover this gem! Thank you, Sheri!

Donna Craigon Sept 2022

Nice clean room, excellent breakfast, nice chat with Sheri.

Milan Stepan Sept 2022

This was a great place to stay while seeing the Gros Morne area. The decor inside shows great character with a special touch. The breakfast was creative and delicious each day including home prepared ingredients! Sheri was also a great resource for exploring the area and was very accessible. The whole experience reflects that Sheri really loves running this B&B.

Brian Woods Sept 2022

We had an amazing time at the Turnip Inn. The day was hot, we enjoyed her picturesque back deck , the sweet private beach (via the secret garden path) and I can’t say which I loved more, Roosevelt the moose ( on the living room wall) or her delicious breakfast. Thanks for being such a great host and for being flexible as my travel plans changed. Awesome place!!

Laurie Fitzsimmons Sept 2022

Great location for exploring the GNP. Wonderfully Newfounflandish B&B with beautiful art and decor, guitar for playing, books for reading, cookies for snacking and comfortable rooms for resting. The food was homemade with local flair. Overall a wonderful place to stay.

Carolyn Sterenberg Sept 2022

Amazing view from our king size bed suite. Jacuzzi, nice bed. Great host. Near north entrance to Gros Morne park. Make sure to visit Arches Provincial Park nearby. Did not have a chance to try breakfast, had to leave 6:30 and host did not have it ready.

Max Diver Sept 2022

Clean, comfortable, well equipped room, nice quiet location with ocean views, great breakfast, super host. Limited services in Parson's Pond, nearest grocery and beverage store is about 15km away in Cow's Head.

Blair Stotesbury Sept 2022

Wonderful stay at The Turnip. The room was clean and comfortable and Sheri is a great host. Breakfast was delicious and set us up nicely for a day of hiking. We’d definitely stay at The Turnip again.

Lorraine Sept 2022

Sheri was a wonderful host. Tailored our meals to be Vegan which was very much appreciated and so tasty! Room was very clean and spacious. Would highly recommend staying at the Turnip B&B!

Cole McKnight Sept 2022

Great food, great host. Sheri was engaging and informative without being intrusive. Homemade cookies were delicious as was the breakfast. Don’t miss it!

David Siegel Sept 2022

Beautiful rooms, amazing breakfast, and Sheri is a delightful host and person! I would definitely stay there again.

Olga Sept 2022

We almost never stay at Bed and Breakfasts as we prefer to have a place to ourselves but we were glad we made an exception this time. Our host Sheri was very friendly but not intrusive. The place is set up really well with coffee and real and treats available all day. Breakfast was amazing! We also appreciated the extra touches like a binder with information, nice bathroom supplies and more. 

Shawna Sept 2022

Great place to stay for the night. We missed the amazing sunset by 10 minutes. Very quiet and delicious breakfast.

Brian Sept 2022

What a great place, and Sheri is a wonderful host, from the yummy 4-star breakfast to the very helpful booklet of area restaurants and how to use the TV. You gotta check out the moose in the living room and the beautiful pond out back, too!

Laurie Sept 2022

Spacious, well equipped room overlooking the Moulting Pond. Nice quite location with views of both the pond and the ocean. Great breakfast, lovely host. Parson's Pond has limited services, so pick up your snacks and refreshments before you get there. Be sure to say hi to Rochester.

Blair Sept 2022

This seemingly remote B&B was en route to all our adventures for a week, and it always felt good to be “home!” Our host, Sherri, was most welcoming and helpful; she knew, for example, we didn’t have enough water containers for our big hike & lent us some, along with her hiking poles! Not only that, she texted to see that we’d made it down the mountain! Each morning, we enjoyed a feast of homemade flavours, often with a twist - we’ll return:)

Reply

Anna Sept 2022

It was a great stay. The hostess is very cordial. The breakfast was delicious and adequate. We arrived in the afternoon and were able to eat a homemade soup for a small price. Coffee, tea and water were always available for the stay. The location was right on the small pond and we liked it a lot. We would stay here again anytime.

Martyna Sept 2022

We had the master bedroom with ensuite. The room was large, clean, modern and comfortable. Sherri served a delicious homemade breakfast. I really liked the attention to small details such as USB chargers in room and locally made soaps.

Rachel Edmond Aug 2022

Can’t say enough about how welcoming and beautifully clean as well as inviting the Turnip B&B is. We had a wonderful 2 day stay, Sherri is a wonderful host and fabulous cook. Monique and I have been back in Ontario for over a week and we are still talking about how great a host Sherri is. She has wonderful and witty personality and makes you feel like she has known you for years.

RedRider Aug 2022

The Turnip was fantastic. The room was really nice and clean. Sheri is a great host and the breakfast was amazing. Thanks Sheri!

Peter Frankel Aug 2022

Rooms were very comfortable and roomy. The location was perfect for what we were doing in the area. Hostess Sheri was very receptive and informative of the area. Breakfast was great and a little different (very good) than the usual great breakfasts we experienced at other B&B's. Everything was great. Recommend to anyone traveling is the area.

Al Sinclair Aug 2022

We highly recommend The Turnip B&B. Cleanliness- Sheri’s home is spotless. Comfort - loved that pillow soft bed and the pristine fluffy white towels. Sheri knows what today’s travelers need - each bedside table had jacks for your electronics. 24 hr coffee n tea in the dining area. Hospitality - sharing conversations with Sheri was a joy. What a nice, positive lady. Breakfast- if you stay at the Turnip you are going to be wowed by her delicious meals - unique, inspiring. I wanted to get the recipe for Dandelion Syrup but forgot at the last minute. Location - on the Hwy between Gros Morne fjord tour, The Arches and a number of walking trails. You will not be disappointed if you stay at The Turnip..

Phillip J Lavigne Aug 2022

We were so impressed with The Turnip and Sherie that we booked an additional night! Awesome artistic decor but comfortable and immaculate. Wonderful breakfast too! And we loved the town - amazing trip all around!

Susan Reed Aug 2022

Such a relaxing stay in a very comfortable room. We loved the creative decor. The breakfasts were delicious and the atmosphere was most inviting.

The Turnip was our last night in Newfoundland and what a wonderful spot!!! So nice to have self check in and those wonderful cookies waiting for us on the dining room table....our room was spectacular with all sorts of creative details...loved the turquoise tub!!! Sheri was very kind and gave us all such a huge breakfast, including fish cakes with hollandaise sauce and pink pickled eggs!!! We spent some time reading outside in her back yard and watched the sun set at about 9:30 in the evening overlooking the ocean. Would definitely come here again - please say hello to 'Roosevelt' for us - we miss him!!!!

Fantastic if you want to socialise a bit with your host! Sheri was friendly, and a wonderful cook. So delightful in every way.

For those visiting Gros Morne and/or driving the Viking Trail, The Turnip B & B is a perfectly located gem. The Bottled Moose and Fishcakes rooms are right next door to each other. We rented both of them for our family if 4, which worked well. Sheri is a fantastic host and makes an amazing breakfast. We would recommend her place to anyone

Katherine Aug 2022

For those visiting Gros Morne and/or driving the Viking Trail, The Turnip B & B is a perfectly located gem. The Bottled Moose and Fishcakes rooms are right next door tThis is a great place to stay when heading up the north coast Fabulous decor and wonderful breakfast Extremely clean and comfortable, very quiet and relaxing Sheri is a wonderful host and I would highly recommendo each other. We rented both of them for our family if 4, which worked well. Sheri is a fantastic host and makes an amazing breakfast. We would recommend her place to anyone

Great place! Homey, clean, comfortable and super cool. Sheri is a great host that goes the extra mile to make you feel welcome, well-fed, and stimulated to explore the beautiful west coast of Newfoundland

Room was huge and very comfortable. Location right on main highway which was perfect for traveling and hostess recommended where to go for dinner and made us reservations. 

Exceptional breakfast: original, well presented, surprising. The bed was very comfortable. Sheri was very welcoming.

Paul  Aug 2022

The homemade breakfast was delicious. Homemade Skyr and vegetable frittata.

Susan Aug 2022

Fabulously restored home. Spacious room and private bath. Bright colours with a theme for each room. Loved it.

Anonymous Aug 2022

The Turnip is probably one of the best B & Bs I have ever stayed in. The rooms are beautiful and very very comfortable. Sherri is aan amazing hostess blending perfectly chatting and visiting with her guests and leaving you to enjoy the peace and tranquility. Her breakfasts are delicious.
I would highly recommend staying there you will not regret it.

Barry Nicholson July 2022

Amazing host, delicious food, wonderful accommodations and perfect location!
So glad we happened across The Turnip as a place to stay while we explored the western side of Newfoundland.
Sheri was truly an amazing host. She was quick to respond to a couple questions we had while booking and made the process go smoothly. We had to book 2 rooms for the length of our stay and Sheri made the transition effortless for us. Her recommendation for the boat tour was spot on and she made sure we knew where the local spring water spot was before we headed home - I just wish we could have brought more home with us!
The food was delicious (so nice to have healthy home made food while travelling) and Sheri makes the best cookies :)
The rooms were wonderfully clean and comfortable.
We will definitely be recommending The Turnip to anyone travelling the west side of the island.

Tara Langford July 2022

The Turnip B&B was fantastic and Sheri was a fabulous host. Very attentive and down right nice. Her breakfasts were great and very tasty. I believe that to the extent possible Sheri sources the ingredients locally. They vary every day and there is a lot of thought that goes into making the selection. There were always fresh cookies on the table and access to tea and/or coffee.
The bed was very comfortable and our room was very clean and well appointed. The towels were also luxurious.
I love the massive Moose head in the lounge and I would recommend the Turnip to anyone. Thanks Sheri for a most enjoyable stay.

John Haley July 2022

Sheri is amazing! Her breakfasts are so creative, delicious and interesting. Nothing boring here! She puts so much care into the breakfast selections. Very much appreciated!

John Bowers July 2022

If I could, would give this more stars!!! Sheri was amazing. My husband has to watch his sodium and she made sure our cooked breakfasts were low sodium but oh so tasty. She had also baked a big batch of cookies that she left on the table for all to enjoy.
The house was spotless and the views were wonderful. There is a small cemetery across the street but the Gulf of St Lawrence is right behind it.
We loved our room and I took advantage of the Jacuzzi tub too. Our bed was oh, so comfortable.
Well worth stopping, For a night or more if you will be in this area.
Sheri has lots of local knowledge about the area and about hiking trails.

Cathy Dyck July 2022

This place is awesome. Quiet, clean, and very cool environment. Don’t forget to get a pic with Teddy in the living room! Sheri is a great host and her gourmet breakfasts are fantastic! You won’t be disappointed with this place.

Sean July 2022

The place is really special, from the beautifully appointed and comfortable rooms to the exceptional breakfast. Sheri knows how to pamper her guests and has created an enchanting B&B for them.

Le Nga July 2022

We stayed a second night on our return trip. Very clean and comfortable. Sheri is a very friendly and welcoming host.

Gary July 2022

Eclectic property - beautifully designed and well mantained. Sheri is a fantastic host and the location was perfect as a one night stop before driving to St Anthony.

Shyam July 2022

The turnip B and B is highly recommended. very clean, excellent host and fantastic breakfast.

Chris July 2022

This was the best airbnb experience that we've had! Sheri is kind, generous with her time, and an incredible cook. There are so many little touches that make this space stand out and feel special.

Erin July 2022

Sheri was such a perfect host. Felt like home immediately. Also I think I found my soul mate B&B. Star Trek....Monty Python....Anthony Bourdain. Everything just seemed to fit. The small attention to detail like the nightstand charging stations. The local soap. The cookies, tea and coffee. Our room was amazing. Large and relaxing. Extra large ensuite with whirlpool tub. The memory foam mattress was so amazing. Best night sleep in weeks. The entire house was awesome. We liked the guest wall with signatures from all over. The breakfast was soooo good too. If you are doing the Western Brook Pond boat tour or going into Cow Head for a play or simply on your way to or from St. Anthony, make this your stop. YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT. We have been in Newfoundland for close to 2 weeks now and it is our best accommodation so far. We have stayed in my B&Bs over the years from all over and this is at the top of the list. Thanks Sheri.

Bucko007 July 2022

Wonderful place. Rooms were very comfortable and roomy. The location was perfect for what we were doing in the area. Hostess Sheri was very receptive and informative of the area. Breakfast was great and a little different (still great) than the usual great breakfasts we experienced at other B&B's. Everything was great. Recommend to anyone traveling is the area. Say hello to Roosevelt if you visit

K8899Hlals July 2022

You don't want to miss the opportunity to stay in such a beautifully decorated and comfortably appointed place. And be served a delicious breakfast, to boot! Parson's Pond is a great base camp for your Gros Morne adventures, or just follow the path behind The Turnip down to a huge and gorgeous lake (which for some reason is called a "pond") that you will have all to yourself. As I sit here baking in the heat of a Massachusetts July, I'm so nostalgic for that gorgeously fresh and chilly wind of Parson's Pond. They really need to put up some windmills up there!

Lara D July 2022

Feels like coming home.

Brigitte July 2022

Sheri was a gracious and friendly hostess. Knowledgeable about the area, and anxious to make our visit a good one. Wonderful breakfast as well

Dave July 2022

The Turnip B&B was a real delight. The B&B was very clean and so beautifully decorated! Sheri is not only a wonderful host, but also a talented decorator, chef and B&B operator. We lacked for nothing! I loved the whirlpool bath, and the wee cookies waiting for us on our arrival - and the lovely breakfast in the morning. Although we only stayed one night, this could be a nice location from which to explore the north part of Gros Morne Park and other hikes on the Great Northern Peninsula. Cow Head, with restaurants and dinner theatre is just down the road.

Janet July 2022

The Turnip B & B was a wonderful surprise. It was warm, welcoming and beautifully decorated. It was the best. Our room (Jigger Dinner) was actually a suite with a large bedroom and bathroom with a soaker tub. It also had a separate room with toilet and shower. Downstairs was a large sitting room. On the wall was a moose’s head surrounded by signatures and comments by other visitors. Very creative! Breakfast was homemade and to die for! Great accommodations, Sheri!
 

Donna July 2022

The host, Sheri, is very nice and it was nice to have a chat with her. Succulent breakfast! Clean and comfortable room. Quiet place.

Rachel July 2022

A wonderful B & B. Sheri provides an exceptional experience. It was very clean, and the breakfast was excellent using many local items. Nice desserts and coffee/tea throughout the day. She was so kind to lend us mitts, toques and warm jackets as our luggage didn’t arrive with us. Highly recommended.

Janice Gair June 2022

Creative personal touch by Sheri in decor and food. Comfortable quiet refuge after hiking in Gros Morne. Different handcrafted breakfast menu each morning. Highly recommended.

J Howell June 2022

Very nice B&B and the host Sheri is a very nice too. :-)

Carsten June 2022

The Turnip Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located off the main road. The room was a good size, with a good sized ensuite bathroom. Wifi was excellent as well device charging by the bed. My wife loved the decor. Yummy cookies when we arrived. Breakfast included mini muffins and Newfoundland steak (fried bologna) - a highlight for me 😋.Sheri was a wonderful hostess.

Idgw June 2022

Amazing host, delicious food, wonderful accommodations and perfect location!
So glad we happened across The Turnip as a place to stay while we explored the western side of Newfoundland.
Sheri was truly an amazing host. She was quick to respond to a couple questions we had while booking and made the process go smoothly. We had to book 2 rooms for the length of our stay and Sheri made the transition effortless for us. Her recommendation for the boat tour was spot on and she made sure we knew where the local spring water spot was before we headed home - I just wish we could have brought more home with us!
The food was delicious (so nice to have healthy home made food while travelling) and Sheri makes the best cookies :)
The rooms were wonderfully clean and comfortable.
We will definitely be recommending The Turnip to anyone travelling the west side of the island.

TLangford70 June 2022

Everything was great! Coffee/tea bar was extensive, bed was comfy, bathroom was large, community spaces were lovely, breakfast was delicious!!

Amanda June 2022

I wanted it to be a terrific stay and it did not disappoint. The Hostess has a lovely, energetic disposition which is reflected in the level of service excellence. The home is: ideally located, quiet, meticulously maintained, very comfortable bed (a must), and the breakfast is wonderful.

Michael H June 2022

We stayed in the Jiggs Dinner room which is a large, beautifully decorated room with personalized touches. We discovered that most restaurants in Newfoundland don't open until 11 am so it's not really a "go out and get coffee and breakfast" sort of culture here, so we were very happy that Sheri makes a homemade breakfast and it's delicious! Coffee and tea are available any time, and she had cookies out too. Great and friendly host, great stay, would definitely stay again. Highly recommend

Erin June 2022

Sheri was an incredible host. Accommodating to our changing morning plans. Place was clean and a great quiet place to stay. Highly recommended.

Nick June 2022

Sheri and her home are FABULOUS!! Seriously 5 stars is NOT enough.. the house is gorgeous and so comfortable! Bed and pillows.. incredibly comfortable, and THE best homemade breakfast ever. If you don’t stay here at least once your missing out! I can hardly wait to come and stay here again.

Brittany June 2022

Easy to find, clean and comfortable.

Donalda June 2022

Sheri’s place was wonderful! Breakfast was delicious, the accommodations were lovely and Sheri was very hospitable (and even helped another guest navigate rebooking a cancelled tour). Highly recommended!

Sydney June 2022

Sorry it has taken me so long to write this review.
We had a lovely stay in May 2019. Sheri was an awesome host.
She made us a gourmet breakfast on her wood stove because the power had gone out. I never expected to have such a breakfast with no power. Sheri is a very resourceful lady!!! The accommodations were superb!!! Would highly recommend staying at this location.
Would definitely stay here again.

Rick Brown May 2022

The Turnip was the perfect place to lay our heads for the night! Absolutely loved it and highly recommend!

Marilyn May 2022

Our stay at Sheri’s place in Parson's Pond was wonderful. We had an unexpectedly tasty and delicious breakfast, which in our case was a garnished baked apple, accompanied with sausages. Sheri has a gift for preparing chef quality dishes for her guests, on top of being discreet and very delightful to talk to. The whole space was very clean and furnished with imagination. We would not hesitate to come back, given the right occasion.

Denis Sept 2021

By far, the cutest and the cleanest bnb we ever stayed when we were in Newfoundland! We stayed there for 3 nights and the room is so spacious and has all this cutesie stuffs. My husband enjoyed his jacuzzi. Sheri's breakfast are all so yummy and mind you it's handcrafted. Everyday, you will get to have a different breakfast menu which is sweet! Highly recommended. And oh, Roosevelt, the moose, this surprised me when I first saw it! Totally loved this place! We will be back there for sure! -Hazel & Damian

Nuramayan C. Sept 2021

Beautiful & wonderfully comfy stay. The property is beautiful and unique with artistic flair! Room & facilities are super clean and more than adequate. Breakfasts were super delicious, varied & healthy. Couldn’t have asked for a better stay. Lovely outlook from the room window, & location of the property is also helpful, easy to find - right by Route 430. Thank you Sheri for being such a wonderful host😀👍 Hugs+++ Y&S

Yolanda Sept 2021

Our stay at Sheri’s place in Parson's Pond was wonderful. We had an unexpectedly tasty and delicious breakfast, which in our case was a garnished baked apple, accompanied with sausages. Sheri has a gift for preparing chef quality dishes for her guests, on top of being discreet and very delightful to talk to. The whole space was very clean and furnished with imagination. We would not hesitate to come back, given the right occasion.

Denis Sept 2021

We had a wonderful stay at Sheri's B&B. The room was extremely clean and the jet tub was a nice bonus. The food was amazing. We will be recommending this place to any friends and family visiting the area.

Alex Sept 2021

Our stay at Sheri’s place in Parson's Pond was wonderful. We had an unexpectedly tasty and delicious breakfast, which in our case was a garnished baked apple, accompanied with sausages. Sheri has a gift for preparing chef quality dishes for her guests, on top of being discreet and very delightful to talk to. The whole space was very clean and furnished with imagination. We would not hesitate to come back, given the right occasion.

Denis Sept 2021